Book details

Yogini & Kalchakra Dasa

Sumeet Chugh

Tags : vedic astrology, Numerous,

Categories : Vedic Astrology, Numerology,

Yogini and Kalachakra Dasa is aimed at students of astrology who have a minimum predictive experience of Vimshottari-dasa, the book instructs on the proper method for applying this to interpreting a horoscope. Before offering lessons in the use of Yogini-dasa and Kalachakra-dasa, Sumeet Chugh offers preliminary explanations and extensive practical illustrations.

Kalchakra dasa, main features: The 27 Nakshatras are divided into Savya & Apsavya groups: The first three Nakshatras belong to Savya, the next three to Apsavya, etc., for a total of 15 Savya & 12 Apsavya Nakshatras. Both of these are then further subdivided into 2 sub-groups each. For example, the two subgroups of the Savya main group are headed by Ashwini & Bharani respectively, the Ashwini group totaling 10, the Bharani group with 5. Years are then allocated by astrological sign, according to its planetary ruler, from 4 to 21 years. In Vimshottari dasa, the total cycle is always 120 years, but in Kalchakra dasa, the total varies according to the Moon's Navamsha. The possibilities are 83, 85, 86 or 100 years. The order of each mahadasa is different for each sub-group of the dasa, which can be found in one or another table.

There are also Gatis, or jumps. The Mandook Gati (frog jump) is when the dasa skips one sign, jumping from Virgo to Cancer, for example. The Markati Gati (monkey jump) is a backwards jump of one sign, from Leo to Cancer, for example. The Simhavalokan Gati (lion's stare) is a trinal jump, to the 5th or 9th sign, from Pisces to Scorpio, or from Sagittarius to Aries. If one lives to complete a cycle (a minimum of 83 years), there are rules to determine where in the cycle one starts again (not the original starting point). Numerous tables help simplify the calculations.